About Vesterålen

Vesterålen is a group of islands bordering on Lofoten in the south. The Vesterålen islands are connected by bridges and are also linked with the mainland, making travel ferry-free. Vesterålen comprises five municipalities: Andøy, Bø, Hadsel, Sortland and Øksnes.

2018-09-2514:21 Lasse Uppman

There are two airports in Vesterålen: Andøya Airport at Andenes and Stokmarknes Airport at Skagen. The coastal steamer calls at Risøyhamn, Sortland and Stokmarknes. Vesterålen also boasts the renowned Trollfjord, which lies in the Raftsund Strait. Vesterålen has little artificial light interference and is therefore perfect for observing the Northern Lights. One of the main attractions is the whale safari. Because Vesterålen consists of many large and small islands, the area is ideal for sea kayaking. There are beautiful, calm skerries naturally shielded from the open ocean, but for those who are more daring, the seaward side of Vesterålen is fantastic! Large amounts of winter cod ('skrei') are landed here during the winter; there are also abundant lakes for ice-fishing - and for angling during the summer. Vesterålen has a variety of overnight accommodation facilities - including everything from hotels to rorbu cabins, hostels and campsites. Activities are largely nature-based, such as nature safaris, paddling, bicycling, fishing and trekking.

Read more about each municipalities: >> ANDØY, , HADSEL, SORTLANDØKSNES